Sci-tech

Facebook Messenger to introduce new 'delete sent messages' feature

Facebook Messenger to introduce new 'delete sent messages' feature

Facebook Messenger is the latest app to allow its users to change their minds about messages after they've sent out into the world.

Users will have a 10-minute window to delete messages from a thread after tapping the "send" button. It'll only let you unsend messages for up to 10 minutes after you first send them.

Currently, while Facebook users can delete messages that they sent from their own inbox, the recipient of the message can still see them.

According to BusinessInsider, the new feature was spotted in the release notes for the newest Messenger update, but for now it's still listed as "coming soon". At least, that's how its worked for users whose name isn't Mark Zuckerberg.

Prince Charles shows off his dance moves in Ghana
So it is about strengthening ties, particularly people-to-people ties. On Monday, Charles is scheduled to address young entrepreneurs.

The long-awaited Unsend feature will hit Facebook Messenger soon.

This length of time is relatively short in comparison to other messaging platforms, including the one day time limit for Facebook-owned Instagram and one hour for Whatsapp - also owned by the social media giant.

Bottom line: Great news for people who take their phones with them on nights out: Facebook Messenger's long-talked-about unsend feature is nearly here. Gmail actually holds the email in a que for the time interval chosen. This gives the recipient the opportunity to read the messages, even if you decide to take it back within the timeframe its eligible to be "unsent".