World Media

Asaduddin Owaisi says his party will support JD(S) in Karnataka elections

Asaduddin Owaisi says his party will support JD(S) in Karnataka elections

The JD (S) already has a pre-poll alliance with the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) and has the support of Telangana Rashtra Samiti (TRS). "It's in the interest of Karnataka and in the interest of the nation that a non-Congress, non-BJP government comes to power both in Karnataka and subsequently (at the Centre) whenever the parliamentary elections are held", he added.

Owaisi also said he would himself address public meetings for the JD (S) if there is a need.

Karnataka came under President's rule, which was revoked on 7 November after JD (S) and the BJP chose to continue with the alliance and make Yeddyurappa the chief minister.

"We will not contest in upcoming Karnataka elections".

'I don't care about the rest' - Salah eyes Champions League
Salah has enjoyed an incredible debut season at Liverpool in the league and the European competition. I can not lie - it is in my mind. 'You can see everyone tries to pass the ball to help me.

"All our efforts and endeavours will be to ensure that JD (S) gets the maximum number of seats", Owaisi told reporters. AIMIM will support JDS and will campaign for them. And we will not be putting our candidates and I've spoken to Mr Kumaraswamy and I've assured him my support to his party and to him.

Karnataka has a sizeable Muslim population and the ruling Congress was attempting to consolidate non-BJP votes.

Political analyst Narayana A, faculty at Azim Premji University, said in the first-past-the-post system, none of these coalitions could be taken lightly.

According to Narayana, more than the likely benefits for the JD (S), Owaisi's support might hurt the Congress if some votes shift. I hope that the people of Karnataka will once again repose faith in the JD (S) so that a qualitative change can be brought in in Karnataka. Kumaraswamy hails from this community, which is dominant in the southern region of the state. The result of the election will be out on 15 May.